HCV Homeownership Program FAQ

The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV), formerly Section 8, Homeownership Program provides low families, who are current voucher holders, the ability to expand their housing opportunities beyond the rental market and use their assistance to purchase homes in the communities of their choice.

The program provides potential homebuyers with assistance towards the repayment of a mortgage loan for a maximum period of 15 years. All participating families must meet the HUD established requirements for admission and participation in the Housing Choice Voucher Rental Program prior to exercising the homeownership option as well as meet all regulatory and discretionary program requirements as set forth by HUD and HCAAC.

The steps to achieving homeownership through HCAAC’s HCV voucher program are as follows:

Decide to become a homeowner

Successfully complete the HCAAS Family Self Sufficiency Program and indicate the pursuit of homeownership as one of your final goals.  (Disabled and elderly families are exempt from this step)

Complete Homeownership Counseling.

Obtain financing.

Enter into a contract of sale on your home of choice.

HCAAC will conduct a HQS Inspection.

Conduct an independent Inspection.

Settle on property.

Move In.
The HCV FSS Manager will assist you during all of these steps to make sure the process goes as smoothly as possible.  Families have the right to select the Realtor, Lender, and Title Company of their choice.  However, the FSS manager may make recommendations based on previous experiences with real estate professionals.